Moving on up!!

23Jun09

WOW!! The last two weeks have been an eye opener for me. In the last two weeks I’ve shot a Toronto Blue Jays game, some Toronto Condo/ housing photos, the 150th running of the Queens Plate and some sexy pictures of my self trying on clothing. It’s been a lot of fun working in Toronto. And going all of these photo for Reuters, nothing better I could ask for other then getting paid…oh wait I am getting paid, wow I’m living the dream. My good friend Chris Pike spoke to me this weekend after I was telling him how much I was enjoying my time in T.Dot and he siad, ” Almost makes you wanna do it for a living hu?…its like crack but with out the needle”. Both of the things he said are very true, hopefully I will get to do more work in Toronto.

Moving on to the photo aspect of this post. Im going to post a photo or two from each assignment I shot. The first wat a Blue Jays game. It was the first time I had shot a baseball game other then that of Blair Gable’s “sexy dancer team” back in Ottawa. I went over what I had shot and I saw right away that I was getting cought up watching the pitcher of the batter and nothing more. So I had same photo after same photo. I did how ever see a boring but cool idea on one of the home run’s Toronto scored.

Infielder, Kevin Millar rounds the bases after a solo home run vs. the Florida Marlins. Chris Roussakis/ Reuters Canada

Infielder, Kevin Millar rounds the bases after a solo home run vs. the Florida Marlins. Chris Roussakis/ Reuters Canada

After the Blue Jays game was over, I was hanging around the Reuters office for the next few days. Peter Jones, Photo Editor for Reuters Canada was shoing me around.I saw how things get done once photos come in and that sorta stuff. They have tons of gear in the office. 600mm on the floor like it was nobody’s business.

I trained it back to Ottawa on Tuesday last week and then trained it back to Toronto on Thursday night. First thing I shot when I got back were some Condo and house photos for the archives.

Toronto skylines. In the forground of the photo is the site of the new Luna building owned by Concord City Place. The condos will be be ready to live in come Fall 2009. Chris Roussakis/ Reuters Canada

Toronto skylines. In the forground of the photo is the site of the new Luna building owned by Concord City Place. The condos will be be ready to live in come Fall 2009. Chris Roussakis/ Reuters Canada

An office building on 782 King street west

An office building on 782 King street west

The next thing was for me to shoot the 150th Running of the queens Plate hourse race at Woodbine race track. I left the house at around 1 in the afternoon and took the subway to Islington stationg where I was picked up by the “boss”, Mike Cassese. He brought his son with him to help firing the remote cameras off that we had placed at the finish line. Once we got to the track, Mike said we had to go put some money down on the game. He looked at me and said “who do ya like”, I looked down the list and pickes a hourse called “Eye of the Leopord”. The hourse won the race, Mike was happy.

We had Mike, his son, and myself plus three cameras set up at the finish line. We had tested them 2 hourse before the race started and again 30 minutes before. The seconed test was bad. Something had gone wrong and we needed to fix it fast. After puttering around with the lines, we got all three camera working again. I was located about 100 feet from the finish line and Mike was 25 feet from the finish. This is what I liked, Reuters pushed the one of him kissing and an isolation shot of the jockey and hourse.

  Jockey Eurico Da Silva (C) celebrates with the winner's trophy after riding 'Eye of the Leopard' to win the150th running of the Queen's Plate horse race in Toronto June 21, 2009. REUTERS/ Chris Roussakis (CANADA SPORT HORSE RACING)

Jockey Eurico Da Silva (C) celebrates with the winner's trophy after riding 'Eye of the Leopard' to win the150th running of the Queen's Plate horse race in Toronto June 21, 2009. REUTERS/ Chris Roussakis (CANADA SPORT HORSE RACING)

  Jockey Eurico Da Silva (C) celebrates with the winner's trophy after riding 'Eye of the Leopard' to win the150th running of the Queen's Plate horse race in Toronto June 21, 2009. REUTERS/ Chris Roussakis (CANADA SPORT HORSE RACING)

Jockey Eurico Da Silva (C) celebrates with the winner's trophy after riding 'Eye of the Leopard' to win the150th running of the Queen's Plate horse race in Toronto June 21, 2009. REUTERS/ Chris Roussakis (CANADA SPORT HORSE RACING)

Hope that you had fun reading this, I know I had fun doing this.

ssslideshow

One Response to “Moving on up!!”

  1. 1 Daniel Bird

    Cool photos C.J. You should run your post through a spell check before you put it up. It will look more professional without the spelling mistakes.


Leave a Reply

